Skip to content

I’m All That

January 28, 2013

When they coined the phrase, “All that and a bag of chips”, they were talking about me. No, I’m not the big bootied, double-D busted, bandage-dress wearing all that. Although, I could be with the right plastic surgeon.  My “all thatness” exists on the inside.  After more than 25 years as a journalist, I realize that I’m bringing something to the party and it aint just chips and dip!

During my time working for a major city newspaper, I was a columnist, an editor, a reporter, a podcast host, a budding videographer, an amateur audio editor.   I pushed for the paper to incorporate use of the use of the Internet, to use video and audio more in its coverage. I knew this is where journalism was heading. I read a lot. However, no one was listening to me at the time.

I was 18-years-old when I started working at the newspaper. I was 47-years-old when I left. I’ve written about topics ranging from traumatic brain injury to the Olsen twins. I’ve interviewed Bill Clinton and Bill Cosby,  and a host of other folks, famous and not-so-famous. I covered Hurricane Katrina ,during which I met then-Sen. Barack Obama and then-Senator Hillary Clinton. I spent a week writing about all the beautiful people attending  Super Bowl XL.

For about 10 years, I was  a general assignment reporter. I could go from covering an airplane crash to new museum exhibit to a boycott on offensive T-shirts in the blink of an eye.

However, I hit my stride when I switched over to become a magazine writer. I showed up and showed out, especially during my Super Bowl coverage, which led to me writing a very popular entertainment column. That column attracted everyone from young black professional women to retired white men.  But the paper really didn’t appreciate what it had, so I left.

Now, after a year-long stint as an editor at a magazine, I’m in graduate school acquiring new skills to enhance my journalistic fabulosity! When you roll like I roll, the chips are never optional!

2 Comments
  1. Twenty five years a journalist Sistah and the best way you can describe yourself is a cliché? At least update that cliché. How about, “All that and free wifi.”

    I use the biography and credibility assignments to point out that details are better. You can tell me your whole life story, but if you tell me why you are credible, then you have to tell me specific details from your life and you have to focus on one aspect of it.

    Your bio tells me about the many times you were a journalist, but it doesn’t relate one real story of journalism. Your credibility defense tells me about life in general, when each of us can only speak authoritatively about our own life. Tell me about your four stages of life. Tell me about one stage.

    Tell me one story, about covering the Super Bowl or turning 50, your kids or your ex. Tell me the truth. And don’t tell me you are going to tell me the truth.

    I know the truth when I see it.

    Good work.

  2. It didnt tell one specific story but it did reveal that she is someone who has covered many diverse stories which to me illustrates that she has a unique perspective on the human condition.

Leave a Reply

