Skip to content

Midterm: The Sistah Has Left the Building

March 13, 2013

Practically, my entire life I’ve written about something or someone. When I was 11, I started writing my autobiography.  However, my mother found it. She was less than thrilled that I was writing about being a foster child. I stopped writing my autobiography.  In the four decades that have past since then,  I’ve written plenty — poems, essays, research papers, news articles,feature stories,  gossip columns, press releases, letters, speeches, etc. Those things were relatively easy.

But creating a persona and sustaining it is hard. Is it too late to become a brain surgeon?

I have taken on this persona of this sassy, been there, done that, midlle-aged black woman. But really, I,m  just a black woman, a sistah of a certain age, who writes sassy but really isn’t all that sassy.  Well, maybe a little bit. Yes, I’ve had some good moments. https://sistahofacertainage.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=3&action=edit. I’ve had some not so good moments. https://sistahofacertainage.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=11&action=edit

Who wants to listen to my tales of life in the mid-range, somewhere between Oprah and the little PR/Marketing girls who pass out the folders at press events?

I feel like the my Writing for Interactive Media  assignments are huge waves that overcoming me. I am drowning, but I don’t want to. Like Susan Hayward  in that movie based on a true story, I want to live!

In order to live, I have to do something different. I have to throw myself a lifeline. I’m going to change my blog. I want to write about things that I’m passionate about that don’t involve personal angst. I’m changing my blog to Media Darling! It will be about the media, not just how it handles certain news stories, but how the media handles the media. I think this will give me more to write about. So many people don’t know what real journalism is or should be. I believe with this blog, I can use my journalism background to ask questions that aren’t being asked and to give a perspective that is many times lacking in today’s newsrooms.

While the country is more diverse, newsrooms seem to be going back to the days when the only people of color in the newsroom were emptying the trash.  What’s a brother or a sistah got to do to host a show on CNN?

Like CNN political contributor Roland Martin, @rolandmartin, I will bring the funk!  Hoping readers of my new blog will be able to stand the smell.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I like your writing and your style. I really enjoyed reading your wikipedia entry as well. he sounds like a fascinating writer. Look forward to more of your journal entries. Keep on being sassy! It suits you…

  2. Well said Cool.

    I hate to see you go Sistah, but you are really not going anywhere and I know the audience will meet you again further down the road. Kudos for taking a draft though and crumpling it.

    Yet I’m not fond of the following sentence:

    Who wants to listen to my tales of life in the mid-range, somewhere between Oprah and the little PR/Marketing girls who pass out the folders at press events?

    The audience would very much like to hear your personal writing. You are scratching this work because it is too hard for you right now. I want to write about things that I’m passionate about that don’t involve personal angst.

    That’s better. Don’t knock your work and don’t knock how difficult it can be. When you can, and not under deadline, keep working at that personal writing.

    And remember that the self-knocking and angst – the dissatisfaction – is your internal editor telling you exactly how your writing should be. It knows. And that should be of some consolation. Somewhere inside your head, you already know exactly how your work should and will read someday.

    Media Darling, in the meantime, sounds like a great new direction. I like how you pose a question right at the start. This too is something a part of you already understands and wants to express. Writing is always on the tip of your tongue.

    Looking forward to some new work.

Leave a Reply

